Skip to main content
About UsSchool Newsspotlight

Ms. Diane Geers Awarded Cook County Unsung Heroine Award

By March 2, 2023No Comments

In celebration of Women’s History Month, Cook County presents the Unsung Heroine Awards to 18 women annually – one from each district of the County, and one countywide, whose contributions to their communities, families and professional endeavors have been so vital, but seldom recognized.

This award is designed to tell the story of the powerful impact women have had throughout history on the development of our social, cultural, economic and political institutions. The Commission on Women’s Issues honors these remarkable women as a way to thank them and to celebrate their achievements throughout the history of Cook County.

The award is named after Peggy A. Montes who served as Chairperson of the Cook County Commission on Women’s Issues. An educator, fundraiser, leader and champion of women’s issues and rights, Montes was the driving force behind the very first Unsung Heroine Awards celebration for the women of Cook County.

Media Center Director
De La Salle Institute

Teacher, 1978-present

Community/Civic Activities

  • Sports/Education Director, 11th Ward Democratic Party, 1994-2022 (presently volunteering for random activities)
  • Chicago Park District community activist, Wilson Community Center, 2014-present
  • Fundraising coordinator for Breast Cancer Night, De La Salle Institute, 2002-present
  • Fundraising treasurer for St. Baldrick’s Foundation, De La Salle Institute, 2016-present
  • Italian American Club Women’s Alliance-active member, 2021-present
  • Grade school and high school volleyball coach, St. David School, Bridgeport Catholic Academy and De La Salle Institute, 1978-2013


  • Kohl’s Foundation Nominee, St. David School, 1984
  • Teacher of the Year Award, 5th Congressional District, St. David School, 1985
  • Heart of the School Award, Archdiocese of Chicago, Bridgeport Catholic Academy, 1989
  • Golden Apple Nominee, Bridgeport Catholic Academy, 1989
  • Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers, Bridgeport Catholic Academy and De La Salle Institute, 1990, 1998, 2000, 2002, and 2003
  • Most Influential Teacher Awards, sponsored by De La Salle Institute
    • Ignatius College Prep, 1996 and 2000
    • Queen of Peace High School, 1997
    • De La Salle Institute, 1997 and 1998
    • Scholastica Academy, 1999
  • Volunteer of the Year Award, Chicago Park District, McGuane Park, 1997 and 1998
  • John Baptist Distinguished Lasallian Educator Award, De La Salle Institute, 2004
  • Sports Hall of Fame Inductee, coach’s award, De La Salle Institute, 2017
  • Top fundraiser award and joined the ranks of Knight of the Bald Table, St. Baldrick’s Foundation, De La Salle Institute, 2022

Leave a Reply

Close Menu