Skip to main content
School News

Class of 2020 Student-Athletes College Signing Ceremony

By March 12, 2020August 26th, 2022No Comments

12 March 2020

De La Salle Institute proudly announces that 20 young women and men from its Class of 2020 have chosen where they will further their educations while also participating in intercollegiate athletics next year.

These Meteors and their families were honored during a ceremony held in the school’s Hilton Commons.

The student-athletes recognized are:

Hockey – Gabe Galvez (Robert Morris University);

Softball – Erianna Claudio (Triton College); Kamryn Gonzalez (La Sierra University); Alyssa Luna (St. Thomas University – Florida);

Baseball – Matthew Boehm (Lewis University); Jeremy Figueroa (Heartland Community College); Ben Hernandez (University of Illinois at Chicago); Isaiah Hernandez (Inspiration Academy); Lee Hodges (Morton College); William LePretre (Millikin University);

Football & Baseball – Michael Passarelli (Illinois Wesleyan University);

Football – Matthew Byrnes (Iowa Western Community College); Jamari Johnson (Eastern Illinois University); Taron Dabney (University of Indianapolis); Devonne Phams (Concordia University – Wisconsin);

Football & Wrestling – David Ortiz (Elmhurst College);

Girls Volleyball – Nina Penny (Indiana Tech); Nyiah Penny (Indiana Tech);

Boys Soccer – Cristian Granados (Lewis University); Manny Rodriguez (Saint Xavier University).

“On behalf of everyone at De La Salle, I would like to congratulate these Meteors on their excellence both in the classroom and in the athletic arena,” De La Salle athletic director Tom White said. “These young women and men have displayed a true commitment to succeeding in everything they do.

“They have set goals for themselves – academically as well as athletically – that they desired to reach and they have done just that. We could not be prouder of our Meteors for everything they have accomplished and we wish them the best in their great futures.”

Well done, Meteors!


PHOTO ID: Front: Devonne Phams, Jeremy Figueroa, Gabe Galvez, Alyssa Luna, Erianna Claudio, Nyiah Penny, Nina Penny, Manny Rodriguez

Back: Lee Hodges, Matthew Byrnes, Taron Dabney, Jamari Johnson, Michael Passarelli, Ben Hernandez, Matthew Boehm, William LePretre, Isaiah Hernandez, Cristian Granados

Not Pictured with Group: Kamryn Gonzalez, David Ortiz

Leave a Reply

Close Menu