Contact Us
School Profile

De La Salle Institute
3434 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60616-3885
(312) 842-7355

CEEB Code #140-765

CEEB Code #140-741

Brothers of the Christian Schools

Rev. Paul Novak, OSM
Dr. Diane Brown
Mr. Nicholas A. Colletti
Assistant Principal
Mr. Paul Dirschl
Associate Principal
Curriculum & Technology
Mr. Dan VanDyke
Director of Student Services
Mr. Tom White
Director of Athletics & Recreation
Ms Emily Vogel
Director of Campus Ministry


De La Salle Institute is an independent Catholic secondary school rooted in the tradition of Christian Education begun by St. John Baptist de La Salle. Founded in 1889, its mission has been, and is, to foster a desire for excellence in education. Young people from a variety of ethnic and economic backgrounds are given the opportunity to fully develop their abilities so they may be active, contributing members of our complex changing society.

  • Enrollment: Total – 760
  • Faculty: 70
  • Teacher to Student Ratio: 11:1
  • Accreditation: AdvancEd, Illinois State Board of Education.


De La Salle is located on Chicago's South side. Drawing students from 232 grade schools--both urban and suburban--DLS's population is diverse racially, culturally, and socio-economically.

White, non-Hispanic 21%
African American 40%
Hispanic 35%
Asian 4%
Other 0%
Catholic 57%
Non-Catholic 43%


A student graduating in 2019 must earn a minimum of 23 credits and meet the following requirements:

Subject Credits
Theology 3.50
English 4.00
Mathematics 3.00
Lab Science 2.50
United States History(Includes Constitution) 1.50
World History 1.00
Foreign Language or Applied Technology 2.00
Consumer ED/Word Processing 0.25
Physical Education 0.75
Fine Arts 0.50
Electives 4.00


Rank is computed at the end of each semester. Grades earned in all courses are used to determine class rank.

The counselor’s signature on the college application only verifies academic information


A 100-93% Exceptional
B 92-85% Above Average
C 84-76% Average
D 75-70% Below Average
F Below 70% Failure


De La Salle has four levels of courses according to the content and ability level. To maintain the ranking process of an equitable level for all categories, a distinction is made in assigning quality points for each level. The levels and quality points are listed below:

Honors Course
(Denoted by an asterisk
on the transcript)
A=5.0, B=4.0, C=2.75, D=1.0, F=0
Advanced Course A=4.5, B=3.5, C=2.5, D=1.0, F=0
Regular Course A=4.0, B=3.0, C=2.0, D=1.0, F=0
General Course A=3.85, B=2.85, C=2.0, D=1.0, F=0


Honor Roll is based on letter grades, not Grade Point Average (GPA).

  • A Honor Roll - Four A's and remaining grades B's.
  • B Honor Roll - B average and no grade lower than C.


4 Year College 78%
2 Year College15%
Trade School3%
Enter Work Force2%

De La Salle Institute admits qualified students without regard to race, color, religion, national or ethnic origin.

Class of 2019
College Matriculation

93% of De La Salle Institute‚s
Class of 2019 attended colleges as follows:
Private 52%
Public 47%
Lasallian 1%
Other Catholic Colleges 16%
Out of state 68%
In-state 32%
  • Arizona State University
  • Arrupe College of Loyola University
  • Augustana College
  • Augustana University
  • Ball State University
  • Bates College
  • Boston University
  • Carthage College
  • Central State University
  • Columbia College Chicago
  • Concordia University Chicago
  • Cornell University
  • Dalhousie University
  • Denison University
  • DePaul University
  • DePauw University
  • Dominican University
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • Eastern Michigan University
  • Fisk University
  • Flagler College
  • Florida A&M University
  • Grambling State University
  • Harold Washington CC
  • Highland CC
  • Hope College
  • Illinois Central College
  • Illinois State University
  • Joliet Junior College
  • Kent State University
  • Kentucky Wesleyan College
  • Knox College
  • Lake Forest College
  • LaTrobe University
  • Lemoyne-Owen College
  • Lewis University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Loyola Marymount University
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • Loyola University-New Orleans
  • Malcolm X CC
  • Marian University
  • Marquette University
  • Maryville University
  • Millikin University
  • Missouri Southern State University
  • Moraine Valley CC
  • Morehouse College
  • Morgan State University
  • Morton College
  • North Central University
  • Northeastern Illinois University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Northwestern University
  • Olivet Nazarene University
  • Parkland College
  • Purdue University Fort Wayne
  • Rice University
  • Richard J. Daley CC
  • Robert Morris University
  • Saint Louis University
  • Saint Xavier University
  • San Jose State University
  • St. Ambrose University
  • St. Edward’s University
  • St. John’s University
  • St. Mary's University of Minnesota
  • St. Olaf College
  • Sunway University
  • Trinity Christian College
  • Trinity College
  • Tuskegee University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Arkansas
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Dayton
  • University of Illinois Chicago
  • University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • University of Mount Union
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Richmond
  • University of St. Francis
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • Valparaiso University
  • Washington State University
  • Waubonsee CC
  • Wisconsin Lutheran College
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute