De La Salle at a Glance

De La Salle Institute is an independent Catholic secondary school rooted in the tradition of Christian Education begun by St. John Baptist de La Salle. Founded in 1889, its mission has been, and is, to foster a desire for excellence in education. Young people from a variety of ethnic and economic backgrounds are given the opportunity to fully develop their abilities so they may be active, contributing members of our complex changing society.

  • Enrollment: Total – 781
  • Faculty: 70
  • Teacher to Student Ratio: 11:1
  • Accreditation: Cognia, Illinois State Board of Education.
Administrative Council of De La Salle Institute

Ms. Anne Marie Tirpak

Mr. Thomas Schergen

Ms. Krishna Millsapp
Assistant Principal

Mr. Paul Dirschl
Associate Principal
Curriculum & Technology

Mr. Dan VanDyke
Director of Student Services

Mr. Tom White
Director of Athletics & Recreation

Ms. Emily Vogel
Director of Campus Ministry

School Population

De La Salle is located in the heart of Chicago’s Bronzeville neighborhood. Drawing students from 232 grade schools–both urban and suburban–De La Salle’s population is diverse racially, culturally, and socio-economically.

White, non-Hispanic 17%
African American 43%
Hispanic 34%
Asian 3%
Bi-Racial 2%
Native American 1%
Catholic 54%
Non-Catholic 46%

Graduate Profile

4 Year College 88%
2 Year College 5%
Trade School 6%
Military 0%
Enter Work Force 1%
Undecided 0%

De La Salle Institute admits qualified students without regard to race, color, religion, national or ethnic origin.

College Matriculation

96% of De La Salle Institute’s Class of 2021 attended colleges as follows:

Public 60%
Private 36%
Lasallian 4%
Out of state 58%
In-state 42%

Alabama A&M University
Arizona State University
Arrupe College of Loyola University
Augustana College
Aurora University
Ball State University
Bates College
Boston University
Carthage College
Central State University
Columbia College Chicago
Concordia University Chicago
Cornell University
Dalhousie University
Denison University
DePaul University
DePauw University
Dominican University
Eastern Illinois University
Eastern Michigan University
Fisk University
Flagler College

Florida A&M University
Grambling State University
Harold Washington CC
Highland CC
Hope College
Illinois Central College
Illinois State University
Joliet Junior College
Kent State University
Kentucky Wesleyan College
Knox College
Lake Forest College
LaTrobe University
Lemoyne-Owen College
Lewis University
Louisiana State University
Loyola Marymount University
Loyola University Chicago
Loyola University-New Orleans
Malcolm X CC
Marian University
Marquette University
Maryville University
Millikin University
Missouri Southern State University
Moraine Valley CC
Morehouse College
Morgan State University
Morton College
North Central University
Northeastern Illinois University
Northern Illinois University
Northwestern University
Olivet Nazarene University
Parkland College
Purdue University Fort Wayne
Rice University

Richard J. Daley CC
Robert Morris University
Saint Louis University
Saint Xavier University
San Jose State University
St. Ambrose University
St. Edward’s University
St. John’s University
St. Mary’s University of Minnesota
St. Olaf College
Sunway University
Trinity Christian College
Trinity College
Tuskegee University
University of Alabama
University of Arizona
University of Arkansas
University of Cincinnati
University of Dayton
University of Illinois Chicago
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
University of Iowa
University of Kentucky
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
University of Mount Union
University of Pittsburgh
University of Richmond
University of St. Francis
University of Wisconsin-Madison
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Valparaiso University
Washington State University
Waubonsee CC
Westmont College
Wisconsin Lutheran College
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Xavier University Louisiana